## BOARD CANDIDATES INDEPENDENCE ASSESSMENT

Independence assessment concerning the proposed composition of the Board of Directors of Ahlstrom-Munksjö Oyj (the "**company**") is as follows:

All nominees are considered independent of the company. In addition, Mr. Karl-Henrik Sundström is considered independent of the company's significant shareholders.

The following nominees are considered non-independent of significant shareholders of the company as follows:

Mr. Ivano Sessa is not independent of the company's significant shareholder Spa Holdings 3 Oy\* in which he is the Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Mr. Alexander Ehrnrooth is not independent of the company's significant shareholder Spa Holdings 3 Oy in which he is a member of the Board of Directors.

Mr. Lasse Heinonen is not independent of the company's significant shareholder Spa Holdings 3 Oy in which he is a member of the Board of Directors.

Mr. Halvor Meyer Horten is not independent of the company's significant shareholder Spa Holdings 3 Oy in which he is a member of the Board of Directors.

Mr. Peter Seligson is not independent of the company's significant shareholder Spa Holdings 3 Oy in which he is a member of the Board of Directors.

Mr. Michael Siefke is not independent of the company's significant shareholder Spa Holdings 3 Oy in which he is a member of the Board of Directors.

\* Spa Holdings 3 Oy will become a significant shareholder of Ahlstrom-Munksjö Oyj once the public tender offer for all the shares in Ahlstrom-Munksjö Oyj has been completed and settled.